8th grade greek play

Grade 8

Students in grade 8 become leaders of Middle School and draw on the skills they have learned to take greater intellectual risks and explore their passions and interests with increasingly greater focus. In this last year before High School, students complete an independent research project and are more reflective.

Peek Inside the Classroom

 

You might find our Grade 8 students:

  • Designing their own controlled physical science experiments in the study of the scientific method, and making a 3-D movie of the design and testing process
  • Solving quadratic and rational equations, and using algebra to analyze patterns in a personal area of interest
  • Meeting a lobbyist and Congressional staffer during the grade-wide trip to Washington, DC
  • Advancing philosophical inquiry skills in contemporary civilization class
  • Using the design cycle of investigating, planning, creating, and evaluating to solve problems in technology class

Explore the Curriculum

Click here to view the Curriculum Guide for the Middle Years program.

LEADERSHIP

Ron Posner
Head of Middle School
(212) 724-6360 Ext 295
rposner@dwight.edu

 

Shelby Levin
Associate Head of Middle School,
MYP Coordinator
(212) 724-6360 Ext 318
slevin@dwight.edu

 

ADMISSIONS

Maryll Spahn 
Director of Admissions
Grades K-6
mspahn@dwight.edu

 

 Liliana Rodriguez  
Associate Director of Admissions
Grades K-6
lrodriguez@dwight.edu

 

Beth Carey
Assistant Director
Grades 7-12
bcarey@dwight.edu

 

Elizabeth Katz
Associate Director of Admissions
Grades 7-12
ekatz@dwight.edu

 

Melissa Andolina
Assistant Director & Enrollment Manager, K - 12
(212) 724-6360 Ext 207
mandolina@dwight.edu