Middle School

Welcome!

In Dwight's Middle School, students in grades 6-8 begin the academically robust International Baccalaureate Middle Years Program, where they are encouraged to collaborate, think critically and independently, and apply their knowledge to the world around them.

What Sets Us Apart?

The International Baccalaureate

  • We offer the Middle Years Program of the International Baccalaureate curriculum, which extends from grades 6–10.
  • The IB is among the most academically vigorous and challenging programs in the world and fosters the education of open-minded and critical thinkers.

Innovation

  • Students may participate in our Spark Tank incubator program, to take their novel ideas with real-world application into the marketplace. 
  • Our 1:1 laptop program in grades 6-8 ensure access to the latest learning technologies. 

Personalized Learning

  • No two students are alike — and no two student journeys are the same.
  • Learning is individualized, as students may reach new heights in math and other subjects, at their own pace.

Community

  • Each student is a member of a small advisory group, which meets weekly with a faculty mentor to discuss a wide variety of topics.
  • All Middle School students participate in a leadership program led by the Head of Middle School, Ron Posner and Associate Head of Middle School, Shelby Levin. 
  • Opportunities for meaningful community service include a service day for each grade.

Global Vision

  • Middle School students have the opportunity to travel abroad to many of our Dwight School campuses and interact with their peers across the globe
  • Students may study Spanish, French, or Mandarin. Additional language offerings and Mother Tongue language classes are available upon request.

Feel free to contact me and see our fantastic program in action or click here to learn more about the middle school application process.

Sincerely,

Ron Posner | Head of Middle School

Meet Our Faculty

LEADERSHIP

Ron Posner
Head of Middle School
(212) 724-6360 Ext 295
rposner@dwight.edu

 

Shelby Levin
Associate Head of Middle School,
MYP Coordinator
(212) 724-6360 Ext 318
slevin@dwight.edu

 

ADMISSIONS

Maryll Spahn 
Director of Admissions
Grades K-6
mspahn@dwight.edu

 

 Liliana Rodriguez  
Associate Director of Admissions
Grades K-6
lrodriguez@dwight.edu

 

Beth Carey
Assistant Director
Grades 7-12
bcarey@dwight.edu

 

Elizabeth Katz
Associate Director of Admissions
Grades 7-12
ekatz@dwight.edu

 

Melissa Andolina
Assistant Director & Enrollment Manager, K - 12
(212) 724-6360 Ext 207
mandolina@dwight.edu