Grade 6

Grade 6 marks an important transition for students ― into Middle School. Students spread their wings by moving beyond a single classroom into different learning spaces like science labs. As they enter this new and exciting phase, students take on a larger course load, become more independent, and begin to explore their passions and interests with greater focus.

Dwight launched a leadership program for students in grades 6, 7, and 8, which took shape in a variety ways for each grade level. Sixth graders were challenged to improvise and collaborate on a special dinner for their parents. Click here to learn more about this unique project!


Peek Inside the Classroom

You might find our Grade 6 students:

  • Starting the year with an overnight class orientation and bonding trip to the Catskills
  • Taking weekly swim lessons at Dwight’s Athletic Center in our six-lane pool
  • Creating 3-D models of UNESCO World Heritage sites in Design class, while simultaneously studying ancient civilizations in Social Studies
  • Collaborating with peers at Dwight’s global campuses in a worldwide celebration of Earth Day
  • Reaching new levels in math at their own pace with the TenMarks adaptive learning platform
  • Visiting the Cloisters Museum in Upper Manhattan and writing a critical analysis of an exhibition
  • Performing science experiments to determine the difference between chemical and physical changes

Explore the Curriculum

Click here to view the Curriculum Guide for the IB Middle Years Program.

Meet the Faculty

Coming soon!

LEADERSHIP

Ron Posner
Head of Middle School
(212) 724-6360 Ext 295
rposner@dwight.edu

 

ADMISSIONS

Maryll Spahn 
Director of Admissions
Grades K-6
mspahn@dwight.edu

 

 Liliana Rodriguez  
Associate Director of Admissions
Grades K-6
lrodriguez@dwight.edu

 

Beth Carey
Assistant Director
Grades 7-12
bcarey@dwight.edu

 

Elizabeth Katz
Associate Director of Admissions
Grades 7-12
ekatz@dwight.edu

 

Melissa Andolina
Assistant Director & Enrollment Manager, K - 12
(212) 724-6360 Ext 207
mandolina@dwight.edu